Member Council

  • Print

The Member Council is an advisory council to the CCSA Board advising on issues impacting charter schools across the state such as academic accountability and the organization's statewide policy priorities. It is made up almost exclusively of school leaders. Most representatives fill one of three types of positions: 1) regional positions intended to represent schools from a county or district, 2) "open positions" intended to represent areas of the state outside those represented by regional appointees and 3) school type positions intended to ensure that perspectives from the various types of charter schools are represented.

Officers

Malka Borrego, Chair
Casey Taylor, Vice Chair

Members

Regional Representatives

Alameda County
Hae-Sin Thomas, Education for Change
Phone: (510) 568-7936
hthomas@efcps.net

Butte County
Casey Taylor, Achieve Charter School
Phone: (530) 872-4100
ctaylor@achievecharter.org

Contra Costa County
Vacant

Fresno County
James Bushman, University High School
Phone: (559) 278-8263
jbushman@csufresno.edu

Los Angeles County
Vacant

Los Angeles Unified
Malka Borrego, Equitas Academies
Phone: (213) 201-0440
mborrego@equitasacademy.org

Los Angeles Unified
Oliver Sicat, Ednovate
Phone: (213) 454-0599
osicat@ednovate.org

Los Angeles Unified
Vacant

Orange County
Anthony Saba, Samueli Academy
Phone: (714) 619-0215
asaba@samueliacademy.org

Riverside and San Bernardino Counties
Debbie Tarver, Desert Trails Preparatory Academy (DPTA) and LaVerne Elementary Preparatory Academy (LEPA)
Phone: 760-963-1861
Debbie.tarver@dtpacademy.com

Sacramento County
Jim Scheible, St. Hope Public Schools
Phone: (916) 275-9589
jscheible@sthopepublicschools.org

San Joaquin County
Anthony Solina, Aspire Public Schools
Phone: (209) 466-6630
Anthony.solina@aspirepublicschools.org

San Diego County
Vacant

San Diego Unified
Nicole Assisi, Thrive Public Schools
Phone: (619) 839-9543
nassisi@thriveps.org

Santa Clara County
Frances Teso, Voices College-Bound Language Academies
Phone: (408) 791-1609
fteso@voicescharterschool.com

Open Positions

North
Chris Topham, Sebastopol Independent Charter School
Phone: (707) 246-8282
ctopham@sebastopolcharter.org

South
Mary Galvin, Ventura Charter School of Arts and Global Education
Phone: (805) 648-5503 x 1001
mary@venturacharterschool.org

School Type and Other Positions

Charter Management Organizations (CMOs)
Marcia Aaron, KIPP LA Schools
Phone: (213) 489-4461, ext. 101
maaron@kippla.org

Charter Support Organization Representative
Jeff Rice, A-Plus+
Phone: (530) 478-7726
jeffrice@jps.net

Conversion Schools Representative
Vacant

Independent Study Schools Representative
Vacant

Innovative Schools Representative
Vacant

Single, Site-Based Schools Representative
Monique Daviss, El Sol Santa Ana Science and Arts Academy
Phone: (714) 654-9621
mdaviss@elsolacademy.org

Ask A Question

From Our Blog

CCSA Answers: Lottery Funds and First Year Schools

Question: I understand that the first 2018-2019 quarterly lottery apportionments are expected from the state by the end of this

Don't Forget to Respond to School District ADA Projection Letters by January 2!

On or before December 1, school districts were required to respond to charter school Prop. 39 ADA projections included in