Member Council

  • Print

The Member Council is an advisory council to the CCSA Board advising on issues impacting charter schools across the state such as academic accountability and the organization's statewide policy priorities. It is made up almost exclusively of school leaders. Most representatives fill one of three types of positions: 1) regional positions intended to represent schools from a county or district, 2) "open positions" intended to represent areas of the state outside those represented by regional appointees and 3) school type positions intended to ensure that perspectives from the various types of charter schools are represented.

Officers

Malka Borrego, Chair

Members

Regional Representatives

Alameda County
Hae-Sin Thomas, Education for Change
Phone: (510) 568-7936
hthomas@efcps.net

Butte County
Casey Taylor, Achieve Charter School
Phone: (530) 872-4100
ctaylor@achievecharter.org

Contra Costa County
Vacant

Fresno County
James Bushman, University High School
Phone: (559) 278-8263
jbushman@csufresno.edu

Los Angeles County
Vacant

Los Angeles Unified
Malka Borrego, Equitas Academies
Phone: (213) 201-0440
mborrego@equitasacademy.org

Los Angeles Unified
Vacant

Los Angeles Unified
Vacant

Orange County
Anthony Saba, Samueli Academy
Phone: (714) 619-0215
asaba@samueliacademy.org

Riverside and San Bernardino Counties
Debbie Tarver, Desert Trails Preparatory Academy (DPTA) and LaVerne Elementary Preparatory Academy (LEPA)
Phone: 760-963-1861
Debbie.tarver@dtpacademy.com

Sacramento County
Jim Scheible, St. Hope Public Schools
Phone: (916) 275-9589
jscheible@sthopepublicschools.org

San Joaquin County
Anthony Solina, Aspire Public Schools
Phone: (209) 466-6630
Anthony.solina@aspirepublicschools.org

San Diego County
Delia Kumabe, Excellence and Justice in Education Academy
Phone: (619) 401-4150
deliapacheco@ejeacademies.org

San Diego Unified
Nicole Assisi, Thrive Public Schools
Phone: (619) 839-9543 nassisi@thriveps.org

Santa Clara County
Frances Teso, Voices College-Bound Language Academies Phone: (408) 791-1609 fteso@voicescharterschool.com

Open Positions

North
Chris Topham, Sebastopol Independent Charter School
Phone: (707) 246-8282
ctopham@sebastopolcharter.org

South
Mary Galvin, Ventura Charter School of Arts and Global Education
Phone: (805) 648-5503 x 1001
mary@venturacharterschool.org

School Type and Other Positions

Charter Management Organizations (CMOs)
Marcia Aaron, KIPP LA Schools
Phone: (213) 489-4461, ext. 101
maaron@kippla.org

Charter Support Organization Representative
Jeff Rice, A-Plus+
Phone: (530) 478-7726
jeffrice@jps.net

Conversion Schools Representative
Vacant

Independent Study Schools Representative
Paul Keefer, Pacific Charter Institute
Phone: (866) 992-9033
pkeefer@heritagepeak.org

Innovative Schools Representative
Oliver Sicat, Ednovate
Phone: (213) 454-0599
osicat@ednovate.org

Single, Site-Based Schools Representative
Monique Daviss, El Sol Santa Ana Science and Arts Academy
Phone: (714) 654-9621
mdaviss@elsolacademy.org

Ask A Question

From Our Blog

Looking back on social media that resonated last year

The new school year is upon us! As everyone settles back in, we're still in a reflective mood and recounting

California Wildfires 2018: Resources for Charter Schools

Was your school community impacted by summer wildfires? CCSA closely monitors wildfires throughout the state and works with impacted charter